Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors is composed of internationally experienced business executives:

Terence Bird
is the retired Vice President Corporate Development & Emerging Markets, McCain Foods Limited.  He is a Director of Atlantic Hydrogen Inc. and the Canadian University of Dubai.  He is the former Chairman, President, and CEO of Bruncor Inc. and CEO of Day and Ross Inc.


Bill Black retired in 2004 after a 38-year career with Maritime Life, including nine years as the company’s President and CEO.  He is a Fellow of the Canadian Institute of Actuaries.  His community and industry leadership roles include Lead Director, Bank of Canada; Deputy Chair, Standard Life of Canada; Chairman of the IWK Children’s Hospital in Halifax; President of the Metropolitan Halifax Chamber of Commerce; Chair of Symphony Nova Scotia; Vice-Chair, Board of Governors, Dalhousie University.


Fred Cahill is the owner and President of G.J. Cahill & Company Limited, with offices in Newfoundland and Labrador, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, and Alberta. He serves as Chair of the Newfoundland and Labrador Construction Association and the Construction Labour Relations Association, and is a Director with the Canadian Electrical Contractors Association. Mr. Cahill also serves on the boards of The Centre for Health Information, the Hibernia Platform Employers’ Organization, and the Newfoundland Symphony Orchestra.


Bert Frizzell is Vice-Chairman of The Shaw Group.  He is a Director of Heritage Gas, LED Roadway Lighting, and Nova Scotia Business Inc.  He is a member of Acadia University Board of Governors.  His past roles include:  Director of Concrete Masonry Producers Association of Canada; Treasurer and Past Chair of Clay Brick Association of Canada; Director of Masonry Canada; and Director of National Concrete Masonry Association (USA).


David Hoffman is Co-CEO of Oxford Frozen Foods and its related companies and is President of FS Industries.  He is a member of the Canadian, Nova Scotian, and English Institutes of Chartered Accountants, and of Financial Executives International.  He is a member of the Oxford Group Advisory Board and his directorships includes the TransCanada Trail Foundation.  He has formerly served as a Board Executive of Metro United Way, Cumberland YMCA, St. Joseph’s Children’s Centre, and on several corporate boards.


Dean Robertson is President and Chief Executive Officer of The Shaw Group.  In 1997, as General Manager of Shaw Wood, he worked with a strong team who grew the company to become one of IKEA’s top-ranking producers in North America.  Appointed General Manager of Prestige Homes in 2006, Dean restructured the business model, based on the new realities in the housing industry.  This new structure, with his emphasis on team building, has paid off in the positioning of that division for the future.  Since 2011, Dean has served as President and during that time, developed many new relationships, growing The Shaw Group operations into Labrador.  He has served on various wood sector boards and also Enterprise Fundy, a community economic development agency in New Brunswick.

Allan Shaw is Chairman of The Shaw Group. He is Vice-Chair, Dalhousie Medical Research Foundation; Member, Advisory Board, Dalhousie University Faculty of Management; past Director of Scotiabank; past Chair, Canadian Centre for Ethics in Public Affairs (CCEPA); past Member, Board of Trustees, Ernest C. Manning Awards Foundation, Calgary; past Chair, Canadian Policy Research Networks Inc., Ottawa; past Chair, Atlantic Provinces Economic Council; and past Chair, Nova Scotia Voluntary Planning.


Peter Woodward is President & CEO, Woodward Group of Companies in Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Labrador.  He has served as Chair of Labrador Health Corporation, Chair of Labrador College and Chair of the Premier’s Advisory Council.  He has also served on the boards of F.P. Resources and Newfoundland Power


Lydia S. Bugden is the Chief Executive Officer and Managing Partner of Stewart McKelvey. Previously, Lydia has held roles as in-house counsel for The TDL Group Ltd and The Consumers Gas Company Limited / Enbridge Inc. In addition to The Shaw Group Holdings Limited Lydia sits on the board of the Waterfront Development Corporation Limited and Minas Basin Holdings Limited. She is a member of the Board of Trustees of the QEII Health Sciences Centre Foundation.